Strasbourg is the seventh largest city in France where located in the northeast of France at the border with Germany in the historic region of Alsace. The architecture of this city is a combination of French and German architecture.

Strasbourg is divided into the following districts:

  1. Bourse, Esplanade, Krutenau
  2. Centre République
  3. Centre Gare
  4. Conseil des XV, Rotterdam
  5. Cronenbourg, Hautepierre, Poteries, Hohberg
  6. Koenigshoffen, Montagne-Verte, Elsau
  7. Meinau
  8. Neudorf, Schluthfeld, Port du Rhin, Musau
  9. Neuhof, Stockfeld, Ganzau
  10. Robertsau, Wacken


Strasbourg Cathedral:

The current building was built on 103 metre height old Romanesque basilica, commissioned in 1015 by the Bishop of Strasbourg, Werner of Habsburg, with the support of Emperor Henri II.

The Strasbourg Cathedral until 1874 with 142 meters height was the tallest building in the world and still remains the tallest works of the Middle Ages.


Parc de l’Orangerie:

The Orangery Park, which is the oldest park in Strasbourg is located parallel to the European Parliament in the city of Strasbourg. The park was built in the early 19th century during the revolution, when 140 orange trees were awarded by the Château de Bouxwiller.


Barrage Vauban:

The Barrage Vauban is a bridge, weir and defensive work erected in the 17th century on the River Ill. At that time, it was known as the Great Lock (grande écluse), although it does not function as a navigation lock in the modern sense of the word. Today it serves to display sculptures and has a viewing terrace on its roof, with views of the earlier Ponts Couverts bridges and Petite France quarter. It has been classified as a Monument historique since 1971.

The barrage was constructed from 1686 to 1690 in pink Vosges sandstone by the French Engineer Jacques Tarade according to plans by Vauban.


Palais des Rohan:

The Rohan Palace was built in the 1720s, with the plans of Robert Dut Cout, the first architect of Louis XV, and  it was for  Rohan family until the French Revolution.

Within this palace there are 3 museums:

  • Archaeological Museums
  • Decorative Arts Museums
  • Fine art Museums



Museums of  Strasbourg:

  • Museum  of Notre-Dame (Musée de l’Œuvre Notre-Dame)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (Musée des Beaux-Arts)
  • Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art (Musée d’Art moderne et contemporain)
  • Museum of Decorative Arts (Musée des Arts décoratifs)
  • Tomi Ungerer Museum / International Center for Illustration (Musée Tomi Ungerer/Centre international de l’illustration)
  • Archaeological Museum (Musée archéologique)
  • Alsatian Museum (Musée alsacien)
  • Historical Museum (Musée historique)
  • Le Vaisseau Museum


Other tourist attractions in Strasbourg:

  • La Petite France
  • Ponts Couverts
  • European parliment
  • Neustadt
  • Eglise Saint-Pierre le Jeune
  • Église Saint-Thomas